top of page
No tags yet.

FOLLOW US:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

STEM to STEAM


My fondest memories I look back on in school are the ones i spent doing extraccuriculars in the art program such as chorus and theatre. Although I didn't know it at the time, these activites greatly influenced me and helped form me into the person I am today. I have no idea where I would be without the guidance of my teachers in the arts program. For this reason, I am a huge advocater of the STEM to STEAM initiative that's currently sweeping the nation. In the society we live in today I feel it has become the norm to place great significance on STEM, (science, technology, engineering and mathematics), because these subjects are said to foster innovation, and innovation is necessary to ensure a prosperous future. Although I agree with this sentiment, I do not feel that the innovation should replace creativity. For creativity is of equal if not more importance.

STEAM is a movement that was begun by the Rhode Island School of Design. (RISD) Since its humble beginnings in Rhode Island, STEAM has garnered the attention of other institutions worldwide, and has been widely adopted by numerous institutions, corporations and individuals.

There are three main objectives of the STEAM movement

1. transform research policy to place Art + Design at the center of STEM

2. encourage integration of Art + Design in K–20 education

3. influence employers to hire artists and designers to drive innovation

These goals are lofty, but not impossible. When I first heard of the STEM to STEAM initiative I was immediately taken by such an amazing, highly pertinent goal. Ever since I could remember, math and science were always placed at the forefront of importance in my education. It was stressed that to succeed in innovation, you must excel in these subjects. Unfortunately for me, I have never been one who excelled in math or science. As hard as I tried and as much effort as I put into studying, math and science were just never my forte. Instead, I loved to write, read, act, and sing. I never felt like what I was interested in was considered very important. Luckily in the school I attended, I was still able to participate in the arts program. Unfortunately in some schools today the arts programs are being eradicated from the curriculum completely. I feel it is imperative for the arts to stay in all school systems. It does not seem just or fair that not all students are rewarded the same opportunites in the arts. It is important that those who wish to sing are able to participate in choir or musicals, and that those who wish to play instruments are able to participate in band. By eliminating art from the school curriculum, we are doing the nation a great disservice by getting rid of possible future great singers, actors, artists, and musicians.

A show such as naturetech greatly emphasizes how significant both science and art truly are to the school curriculum. All three spotlighted artists of naturetech showcase how the marriage of both art and technology led them to great success and innovative discovery in their lives. If you removed the science from Michelle Samour’s tinsel paintings, they would cease to have the fascinating shapes she pulls from the natural world. Conversely, if you were to take the art out of Nathalie Miebach’s sculptures, they would merely consist of weather data.

Science and technology will always be an important part of the school curriculum, but it is vitally important to keep the arts integrated into all school systems so that every student has the chance to explore their true interests and foster their creativity. This in turn can lead to great, innovative discovery.

Interested on more about STEM to STEAM? Click the link below to go to their official website and add yourself and/or your organization to their global map to show decision-makers and others where STEAM is happening, what's working and how the network is growing.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

bottom of page