top of page
No tags yet.

FOLLOW US:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Samour: Sure to Leave You Wanting More

My favorite thing about being in collaboration with the naturetech exhibit has been being exposed to such breath taking art that I would have never experienced before. Yesterday, as we were finally able to view the various art works in person, seeing it right before our eyes, it was a different experience entirely.

The word that kept coming to my mind was “exquisite.” I already loved what I was seeing before, in pictures online, but seeing it 3 dimensionally took the art work to a different level completely.

One artwork that I became especially transfixed on was Michelle Samour’s “Too Much is Not Nearly Enough.” I found myself so incredibly mesmerized by and drawn to the bright neon colors that were present in her work. I had heard the curator of naturetech, Mary Tinti, speak eloquently on the tinsel paintings before, but seeing them in person made me so incredibly aware of the extreme amount of immaculate detail that Samour puts into her work. Personally, Michelle Samour’s work is the exact kind I would love to have hanging in my house, just so I would be able to stare at it whenever I pleased!

In Samour’s work she utilizes tinsel painting to give her work a shimmering, unique quality that makes it impossible not to stop and stare and just say, “Wow.” In addition, the artist also takes the shapes of her artwork directly out of nature, cosmology, biology, archaeology, religion, chemistry, and other fields of inquiry.

In the picture posted to the right, (I just couldn’t resist getting a picture in front of my favorite work of hers.), each figure can be found slightly altered in color or shape on each of the three sections of the canvas. I was immediately drawn to the work by the transfixing color, and shapes, but what makes you unable to look away is the fun of finding the different shapes elsewhere on the same piece of work. This technique is also present in her other piece, “Drawn and Mirrored”, in which each shape is directly reflected in some way on a separate canvas.

Although the images of Michelle Samour’s artwork are amazing in themselves, I strongly suggest seeing them in person for the real deal. You will find yourself unable to look away from the mesmerizing colors and true beauty that stands before you as a result of the innovative way Samour combines nature and art seamlessly as one.

P.S

Do you see something else catching your eye in the background of the picture featured? That’s just a peak into Cristi Rinklin’s world! Make sure to view Sarah’s blog post on what she personally loves, and is sure you will to, about Rinklin’s works!

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

bottom of page